Home    About Us    Governance


GTI is guided by a Board of Directors with members representing the natural gas industry and consumer interests. The CEO of GTI is also a member of the Board. Input is solicited from the Public Interest Advisory Committee (PIAC). The PIAC provides public and gas consumer interest guidance to GTI and its Board. The PIAC is made up of public utility commissioners, consumer advocates, and environmental, economic, and university-based experts.

In addition, member companies and other partners provide technical guidance to GTI on program content and priorities. GTI also formally surveys its research customers regularly. This satisfaction survey helps to ensure that GTI's products and services meet customer needs and identifies areas for performance improvement.

GTI Board of Directors, July 2018
  • Mr. Carlos A. Cabrera, Executive Chairman, Genomatica, Inc.
  • Mr. David C. Carroll, President and CEO, GTI (Ex Officio Director)
  • Mr. Adrian Chapman, President and CEO, WGL Holdings, Inc. and Washington Gas
  • Mr. Arthur C. Corbin, President and CEO, Municipal Gas Authority of Georgia
  • Mr. Marc J. Florette, Executive Digital Advisor, ENGIE (Retired)
  • Mr. John D. Hofmeister, Chief Executive, Citizens for Affordable Energy
  • Mr. Alexander A. Karsner, Managing Partner, Emerson Collective
  • Mr. Bret Lane, President and COO, Southern California Gas Company (Chair)
  • Mr. Steven L. Mueller, Chairman and CEO, Southwestern Energy Company (Retired)
  • Ms. Rebecca Ranich, President, Exenico LLC (Vice Chair)
  • Mr. David F. Smith, Chairman, National Fuel Gas Company
  • Mr. John W. Somerhalder II, Chairman, President and CEO, AGL Resources (Retired)
  • Mr. Nick Stavropoulos, President and COO, Pacific Gas & Electric Company
  • Ms. Lori S. Traweek, COO, American Gas Association
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​